Alone

Alone.
Yes, that’s what I am.
Alone.
And yet, I would like to beg to differ.

I can hear his soft yet determined footsteps.
They stop just shy of the doorway.
The floorboards moan and creak under his weight.

I can sense his eyes glaring at the back of my head.
His stare sinking deeper and deeper into my soul.
He never looks away.

I can feel his presence just inches away from me.
His breath h o v e r s around my skin.
He never moves a muscle.

Do I dare turn and look?
Or do I continue to ignore him?
What will he do next?
What should I do next?

Finally, I can’t stand the pressure any longer.
I turn first my head, allowing my eyes to slowly follow.
And I stare.
Stare at the doorway.
Stare at the empty space.
Stare at nothing.

Alone.
Yes, that’s what I am.
Alone.
And yet, am I ever truly alone?

Protected by Copyscape DMCA Copyright Protection

Leave a Reply

